navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle snapchat-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

Danowski Named To All-Pro Team, Finishes 2nd In MVP Race

March 19, 2016
Major League Lacrosse and today announced the 12-member All-Pro Team for 2013, which includes Hounds captain Matt Danowski at the attack position. Coaches and GMs of each of the league’s eight teams counted for two-thirds of the voting, while a fan poll made up the remaining third of votes.

Joining Danowski at attack are the Outlaws’ Brendan Mundorf and Chris Bocklet. At the midfield position is the Nationals’ Kevin Crowley, Cannons’ Paul Rabil and Outlaws’ Jeremy Sieverts. The faceoff nod went to Greg Gurenlian of the Lizards, while Jesse Schwartzman of the Outlaws claimed the goalie spot. Rounding out the defense are the Nationals’ Tucker Durkin and Brodie Merrill, Bayhawks’ Mike Evans and Outlaw’ Lee Zink.

Danowski, a six-year MLL veteran, is playing the best lacrosse of his career, leading the Hounds to a 7-7 record and first-ever playoff berth. In 12 regular-season games this year, he posted 33 goals – including six 2-pointers – and added 10 assists for 49 points overall. Both the goal and point totals are new career highs for Danowski, who had previously tallied bests of 25 goals and 47 points in 2010. His 49 points rank fourth overall for MLL players, despite having played two less games than the top three scorers. In addition, his 4.08 points per game average ranks second in the league, just behind Lizards rookie Rob Pannell’s 4.2. Danowski in 2013 was twice named MLL Warrior Offensive Player of the Week.

Along with the MLL All-Pro distinction, Danowski was the first runner up to Crowley in the 2013 Warrior MVP race. Danowski received four first-place votes compared to Crowley’s 10. The Hounds star also finished third overall in voting for Brine Offensive Player of the Year, tallying three first-place votes. Crowley also earned that distinction with six first-place votes.

But Danowski wasn’t the only Hound whose name came up during awards season. Fellow attackman Ryan Young placed second in the Warrior Most Improved Player race. Young, a third-year player, tallied 30 goals and added a team-high 10 assists for a total of 40 points, more than doubling his 2012 output. Last year, his first full season in the MLL, he scored 12 goals and dished out six assists for 18 points as a member of the Lizards. Young earned four first place votes in the category, coming in just behind the Outlaws’ Drew Snider who received six.

Hounds head coach Mike Cerino also received the approval of his peers, coming in third place in the Brine Coach of the Year Voting. Cerino was at the forefront of taking the Hounds from a mediocre team to a playoff team. The Hounds in their second year improved their goals per game average from 10.4 to 12.7, becoming one of the top scoring threats in the league. In addition, the defense buckled down in 2013, allowing an average of only 12.8 goals per game, compared to a 14.3 average in 2012. Cerino received one first place vote, seven second-place votes and four third-place votes. The winner, Jim Stagnitta of the Outlaws, collected nine first place votes.

The No. 4 seed Hounds will face the No. 1 seed Outlaws (14-0) in the first semifinal game of MLL Championship Weekend presented by Smartlink on Saturday, Aug. 24. The game will be played at PPL Park in Chester, PA and begins at 1:00pm ET. Watch the action live on ESPN2 or through and the WatchESPN app.