UPDATED: MLL Expansion Draft Set for Dec. 7

By Megan Lieberman |  11/28/11 10:00 AM

UPDATED: MLL Expansion Draft Set for Dec. 7


Contact: Aly Morrissey
Major League Lacrosse
(617) 787-6634

2012 MLL Expansion Draft to be Held December 7th

BOSTON, Mass. (November 28, 2011) ­– Major League Lacrosse (MLL) announced the 2012 MLL Expansion Draft will be held at 1 p.m. on Wednesday, December 7, 2011. The draft is a chance for the league’s newest teams, the Charlotte Hounds and the Ohio Machine, to build their rosters for the 2012 season. Fans can follow along through a live blog to be posted to the MLL website, which will announce the draft picks in real time.

The Expansion Draft will consist of 15 rounds, with a total of 30 players being selected from the pool. The Rochester Rattlers will have the first pick in Round 1 of the MLL Expansion Draft; the result of an October trade with the Ohio Machine that sent Greg Bice, Anthony Kelly, Stefan Schroder and Brett Garber to Ohio. The Machine also received Rochester's second round pick in the 2012 MLL Collegiate Draft (15th overall) in the trade. Charlotte will have the second overall pick in the 2012 MLL Expansion Draft.

In total, Charlotte will have 12 draft picks and Ohio will have 11 picks. The Denver Outlaws and Rochester Rattlers each have two picks while the Boston Cannons, Chesapeake Bayhawks and the Hamilton Nationals have all acquired one pick each as the result of trades earlier in the year. During the Expansion Draft, teams may choose to select players from the Player Pool, not only unprotected players.

The updated 2012 Expansion Draft order can be found here.

On December 14 the 2012 MLL Supplemental Draft will take place for all eight teams. There will be a live blog covering the details of this draft as well. The 2012 MLL Collegiate Draft is to be held on Friday, January 13 in Philadelphia, PA during the US Lacrosse National Convention. The event will be streamed live on the web and a blog will allow fans to chat about the trades in real time.

For all draft-related content and information, please visit the MLL Draft Center page.

About Major League Lacrosse (MLL)

Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston, Massachusetts. Major League Lacrosse commenced play in June of 2001 and will enter its twelfth season in 2012.  MLL has continued to lead the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports. The league is made up of eight teams: The Boston Cannons, Charlotte Hounds, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Denver Outlaws, Hamilton Nationals, Long Island Lizards, Ohio Machine and Rochester Rattlers.

The 2012 MLL Collegiate Draft will take place on January 13, 2012 in Philadelphia, PA. The 2012 season will commence on April 28, 2012. More information about the league can be found at, Facebook or Twitter


04/23 7:30PM EST vs Cannons Buy Tickets More Info
04/30 7:30PM EST vs Rattlers Buy Tickets More Info
05/14 7:30PM EST vs Launch Buy Tickets More Info
05/21 5:00PM EST @ Lizards Buy Tickets More Info
06/03 7:30PM EST @ Bayhawks More Info
06/09 7:30PM EST vs Machine Buy Tickets More Info
06/11 7:00PM EST @ Cannons Buy Tickets More Info
06/18 7:00PM EST @ Launch Buy Tickets More Info
06/25 7:30PM EST vs Blaze Buy Tickets More Info
07/01 8:00PM EST @ Blaze Buy Tickets More Info
07/16 4:30PM EST @ Rattlers More Info
07/23 7:30PM EST vs Outlaws Buy Tickets More Info
07/30 5:00PM EST @ Outlaws More Info
08/06 7:30PM EST vs Bayhawks Buy Tickets More Info